“There is no ‘Try'”

YodaThere’s a poem my grandfather taught me when I was a school girl, “Always Finish”:

If a task is once begun,

Never leave it till it’s done.

Be the labour great or small,

Do it well or not at all.

No author every claimed it as their own, but it’s one of the single most influential things I’ve ever read in my young life, and still hangs at the door to my home office to this day. It’s my mantra, a reminder to give every day and task my 100%.

The message of the poem was relayed to me again through a very different speaker, the first time I watched “Empire Strikes Back.” The Jedi Master Yoda tells his Paduan that trying halfheartedly and whining about how hard things are is simply never going to cut it. “Do not Try. Do…or do not. There is no ‘Try.’

Whatever it is you are doing, be sure to begin with a clear mind and a positive attitude. If your mind is cluttered with doubt, you set yourself up for failure before you even begin.

Have a great day!

