Pick and Choose

Walking in the rain

“You can’t pick and choose how and when the rain will fall. There’s no escape; it is what it is….”

While I’m certainly no couples counselor, it’s the advice I offered a friend who is depressed about his wife. He says he loves her more than ever, but he stresses over her. An older couple, both are stressed by their work, children and health issues, but they are also still very eager to please one another.

Out of the blue he complains that it’s been raining all day, stop-and-go, and how irritating it is. “Can’t it just hit all at once and go away?!” The contrasting imagery struck me and I smiled for a moment before responding. A philosopher and story teller at heart, I found it to be a good metaphor for life….

Do you have a metaphor to share? Please click “reply” below and post your metaphor if you like.

