Serving with Confidence

Confidence is the key to success. Often times we are discouraged by a setback of some sort, but consider that each setback is actually a life lesson and use it to build the confidence you need to engage in a new endeavor.

When confidence wanes, it’s important to stop what you are doing completely and take 10 full minutes to meditate on your successes, however small they may seem. Use this positive energy to boost your confidence and creativity.

Try not to compare yourself to others. “Success” is more than just a matter of sitting poolside in a penthouse apartment with no worries about where the next check is coming from. It’s more than jet setting to conferences for global recognition. It’s a matter of knowing what skills you bring to the world and all the positive ways in which you can apply them within your community.

Don’t get me wrong. It’s a scorcher here and I’m just sitting at my desk with a little fan to keep me company this morning, so the poolside reference sounds pretty good right now! Still, I’m here, writing to you folks. Why? Because I know who I am and what I am able to offer the community of which I am a part. I serve people with confidence.

What does it mean to “serve with confidence”? It doesn’t mean that you feel you know everything and never need the support of other resources. On the contrary, knowing your strengths and limitations, knowing when to stop and ask questions and when to follow your “gut” instincts, is precisely what serving with confidence represents.

The next time you feel a surge of apprehension coming on, stop and consider what your actual confidence level is. Being able to reconsider an issue and the available resources (people, technology, etc.) is a positive, confident activity, regardless of how anxious the task at hand may make you.

Do you have a particular example of “serving with confidence” that you’d like to share? Please feel free to post it below!

Have a great day!

